©OT Doubs Baumois The old stones
The Doubs Baumois region is green as far as the eye can see , wide open spaces, outdoor activities … But lovers of old stones and heritage will also find plenty to enjoy.
Here is our selection so you don’t miss anything.
The discovery of the historic heart
It's no secret that architectural treasures are hidden in the heart of small towns in Franche-Comté!
The best way to discover its smallest secrets is to do the summer visit of Baume les Dames offered by the Tourist Office, or the independent tour with the guide and the tourist map.
The private mansion of the Lords of Neufchâtel
The private mansion of the lords of Neufchâtel is the oldest house in Baume les Dames. It dates from 1424Somewhat hidden, this residence is accessible from the Place de la République through a small inner courtyard.
Belvoir Castle
Perched on its rocky spur, this castle located 20 minutes from Baume les Dames dominates the entire Sancey plain.
It is possible to visit it from Easter to All Saints' Day , and we recommend the night markets on Friday evenings in the summer!
The Old Ropp Pipe Factory
Did you know?
For almost 100 years (1893-1991), a Ropp brand pipe factory, located on the banks of the Cusancin at the exit of Baume les Dames, contributed to the growth of the town and employed up to 200 workers. The manufacture of cherry wood pipes will have marked the history of the town and the memory of its inhabitants.
Unfortunately, the old factory is closed to the public and cannot be visited.
Where to find the most beautiful bell towers in Franche-Comté
It is a must-see in the region's architecture: the bell towers of Franche-Comté.
But do you know the history of the Comtois bell towers? They are also called Imperial coachmen…and this is no coincidence.
In 1678, Louis XIV annex the Franche-Comté which until then had resisted the conquest of the Kingdom of France and he decided at that time to standardize the roofs of the churches of Franche-Comté by giving it the shape of a imperial crown.
Saint Martin's church and its organ
The neo-Gothic style church is worth a visit. Altarpieces, pulpit, superb stained glass windows, pieta, lectern… it is very rich.
From the nave, turn around to admire, perched in its gallery, a sumptuous organ dating from 1839. It is by the Callinet brothers, organ builders in Rouffach in Alsace, and is considered one of the most complete in the entire region: it has 54 stops and 4 keyboards and more than 4000 pipes.
Montby Castle in Gondenans Montby
The Montby fortress is a castle of medieval origin . It is listed in the Supplementary Inventory of Historical Monuments
It is an association, “Les amis du Château de Montby” which aims to contribute to the preservation, restoration, animation and promotion of this castle which is located in the commune of Gondenans-Montby, 10 minutes from Baume les Dames.
Visits are possible by appointment, but also during the summer period.
Don’t miss the medieval festival in July, and the visit to the European Heritage Days!
The impluvium washhouse at the Tour de Scay
Wash houses and fountains are numerous in the Doubs Baumois region, but the Beney wash house with its impluvium is a curiosity!
Its inverted conical roof allows it to collect rainwater in addition to the spring water that feeds the circular basin . Beyond its technical aspects, and thanks to a beautiful renovation, this wash house, dating from 1834, has regained its former beauty.
Access is free all year round.
Moncey Castle
Every Thursday and Friday, Saturday and Sunday from April to September, Jacques opens the doors of this little-known castle and will reveal all the secrets of Marshal de Moncey.
The Cour district… frozen in time!
Formerly a village on the outskirts of Baume les Dames, Cour is now a neighborhood that has merged with the city.
It has a very " village life " feel and some beautiful heritage gems!
Not to be missed: the statue of the 3 Saints , the charming church of Cour , the old weaving factory and the pretty little cobbled streets …
Why are the inhabitants of Cour pirates?
This nickname comes from an old privilege: a free day of fishing each year, with all means permitted. Rumor had it that they took far more advantage than this right allowed, which earned them the reputation of "pirates." Today, the " Court Pirates Association " organizes activities at the court and makes rooms available to families and associations to encourage mutual support.
I discover the Court Pirates Association