©OT Doubs Baumois
For heritage lovers

The old stones

The Doubs Baumois region is green as far as the eye can see , wide open spaces, outdoor activities … But lovers of old stones and heritage will also find plenty to enjoy.

Here is our selection so you don’t miss anything.

à Baume les Dames

The discovery of the historic heart

It's no secret that architectural treasures are hidden in the heart of small towns in Franche-Comté!

The best way to discover its smallest secrets is to do the summer visit of Baume les Dames offered by the Tourist Office, or the independent tour with the guide and the tourist map.

Well hidden at the back of a courtyard

The private mansion of the Lords of Neufchâtel

The private mansion of the lords of Neufchâtel is the oldest house in Baume les Dames. It dates from 1424Somewhat hidden, this residence is accessible from the Place de la République through a small inner courtyard.

Private Mansion of the Lords of Neufchatel Credit OT Doubs Baumois Chantal Meyer 7 ©OT Doubs Baumois
Entrance to the private mansion of the lords of Neufchâtel
staircase of the house of the Lords of Neufchatel ©OT Doubs Baumois
Viorbe staircase – private mansion of the lords of Neufchâtel
Private Mansion of the Lords of Neufchatel ©OT Doubs Baumois
Entrance door to the private mansion of the lords of Neufchâtel
Private Hotel of the Lords of Neufchatel 2020 Credit OT Doubs Baumois 2 ©OT Doubs Baumois
Vaulted cellars of the private mansion of the lords of Neufchâtel
Private Hotel of the Lords of Neufchatel 2020 Credit OT Doubs Baumois 7 ©OT Doubs Baumois
Interior of the small museum
And at the top!

Belvoir Castle

Perched on its rocky spur, this castle located 20 minutes from Baume les Dames dominates the entire Sancey plain.

It is possible to visit it from Easter to All Saints' Day , and we recommend the night markets on Friday evenings in the summer!

Holy crap!

The Old Ropp Pipe Factory

Did you know?

For almost 100 years (1893-1991), a Ropp brand pipe factory, located on the banks of the Cusancin at the exit of Baume les Dames, contributed to the growth of the town and employed up to 200 workers. The manufacture of cherry wood pipes will have marked the history of the town and the memory of its inhabitants.

Unfortunately, the old factory is closed to the public and cannot be visited.

Pipes ROPP Credit Alexia MAITREHENRY 3 ©OT Doubs Baumois
ROPP Pipes – View of the Ropp pipe factory
Pipes Ropp Visit May 2021 2 ©OT Doubs Baumois
Pipes Ropp – Reconstruction of the Ropp school (Non-visitable)
Pipes Ropp Visit May 2021 4 ©OT Doubs Baumois
Pipes Ropp – Interior of the workshops (not open to visitors)
Pipes ROPP Credit Alexia MAITREHENRY 5 ©OT Doubs Baumois
ROPP Pipes – View from the Croix de Châtard
Pipes Ropp Visit May 2021 16 ©OT Doubs Baumois
Pipes Ropp – Workshops (Non-visitable)
Pipes Ropp Visit May 2021 26 ©OT Doubs Baumois
Ropp Pipes – Ropp Article Collection
ROPP Pipes March 2021 Credit OT Doubs Baumois 3 ©OT Doubs Baumois
ROPP Pipes – Factory Entrance
old pipes view
Old view of the Ropp pipe factory
In the Doubs Baumois

Where to find the most beautiful bell towers in Franche-Comté

It is a must-see in the region's architecture: the bell towers of Franche-Comté.
But do you know the history of the Comtois bell towers? They are also called Imperial coachmen…and this is no coincidence.
In 1678, Louis XIV annex the Franche-Comté which until then had resisted the conquest of the Kingdom of France and he decided at that time to standardize the roofs of the churches of Franche-Comté by giving it the shape of a imperial crown.

Pouligney Lusans photo OT BLD CMeyer 2
Pouligney-Lusans
Hyèvre parish sept 2024 Credit Alexia Maitrehenry 1
Hyèvre-Parish
chantal Meyer oct2015 8 Copy
Lomont-sur-Crete
Moncey photo OT BLD CMeyer 7
moncey
The Tower of Scay Credit Alexia Maitrehennry 1
The Tower of Scay
Oct2015 Cm 6 Copy
Voilance
Cendrey png Credit Alexia Maitrehenry 8
Cendrey
Oct2015 CM 16
Grosbois
Rigney Credit Alexia Maitrehenry 17
Rigney
Bretigney Notre Dame6
Bretigney-Notre-Dame
IMG 20181110 125728
rolls

Saint Martin's church and its organ

The neo-Gothic style church is worth a visit. Altarpieces, pulpit, superb stained glass windows, pieta, lectern… it is very rich.

From the nave, turn around to admire, perched in its gallery, a sumptuous organ dating from 1839. It is by the Callinet brothers, organ builders in Rouffach in Alsace, and is considered one of the most complete in the entire region: it has 54 stops and 4 keyboards and more than 4000 pipes.

Montby Castle in Gondenans Montby

The Montby fortress is a castle of medieval origin . It is listed in the Supplementary Inventory of Historical Monuments

It is an association, “Les amis du Château de Montby” which aims to contribute to the preservation, restoration, animation and promotion of this castle which is located in the commune of Gondenans-Montby, 10 minutes from Baume les Dames.

Visits are possible by appointment, but also during the summer period.

Don’t miss the medieval festival in July, and the visit to the European Heritage Days!

The impluvium washhouse at the Tour de Scay

Wash houses and fountains are numerous in the Doubs Baumois region, but the Beney wash house with its impluvium is a curiosity!

Its inverted conical roof allows it to collect rainwater in addition to the spring water that feeds the circular basin . Beyond its technical aspects, and thanks to a beautiful renovation, this wash house, dating from 1834, has regained its former beauty.

Access is free all year round.

Oh the beautiful castle!

Moncey Castle

Every Thursday and Friday, Saturday and Sunday from April to September, Jacques opens the doors of this little-known castle and will reveal all the secrets of Marshal de Moncey.

A village in the city

The Cour district… frozen in time!

Formerly a village on the outskirts of Baume les Dames, Cour is now a neighborhood that has merged with the city.

It has a very " village life " feel and some beautiful heritage gems!

Not to be missed: the statue of the 3 Saints , the charming church of Cour , the old weaving factory and the pretty little cobbled streets

This nickname comes from an old privilege: a free day of fishing each year, with all means permitted. Rumor had it that they took far more advantage than this right allowed, which earned them the reputation of "pirates." Today, the " Court Pirates Association " organizes activities at the court and makes rooms available to families and associations to encourage mutual support.

I discover the Court Pirates Association